La filière française

France, the country of quality garlic plants

All the prerequisites for quality

France is recognized worldwide for the quality of the garlic plants it produces. French garlic crops are grown in a rich and diversified soil in favourable climatic conditions, and the industry involves a network of skilled professionals covering all areas of garlic plant production, from plant breeding to marketing. Strict production standards have been determined and are rigorously applied by all involved in the industry in order to guarantee garlic plants comply with the highest quality and food safety standards.

A favourable soil and climate

The pedoclimatic conditions in France are ideal for producing quality garlic plants in a wide range of varieties. Over 25 varieties are propagated over 500 ha in 4 regions: south eastern France, south western France, Auvergne and northern France. These regions have a long tradition of cultivating garlic and optimum climatic conditions. Long crop rotations, 5 years and more, improve soil quality and reduce the damage caused by pests and disease.

Over 30 years of close collaboration between public research institutions and professionals

The INRA (Institut National de la Recherche Agronomique) has been working in close collaboration with professionals for over 30 years in order to cover all aspects pertaining to garlic cultivation: (meristem cultivation, research on diseases: viruses, bacteria, rot…). This collaboration means the industry is always at the cutting edge of progress, and capable of meeting both the requirements of farmers and demands tied to the changing face of the market.

Breeding all types of new garlic varieties

Breeding is essentially carried out by the INRA as well as a few commercial breeders with the help of numerous partners (farmers, cooperatives, GIE…). Varieties are selected based on precocity, conservation, bulb shape and colour (tolerance to bacteria) etc... Trials are carried out through an organized network in order to better evaluate plant behaviour.


Strict methods applied to garlic plant production

In order to obtain the best quality garlic plants, professionals have implemented a strict production scheme. First generation plants are propagated under insect-proof tunnels in order to prevent viral contamination and are disinfected by thermotherapy against nematodes.


Closely monitored production

Throughout their growth cycle, plants are closely monitored by SOC-approved technicians (SOC: Official Inspection and Certification Body). Samples are tested and checked for nematodes. Mandatory laboratory tests are on the increase as quality standards grow stricter. For instance, French certification standards are stricter than those established by European Directives.


Producer farms that are equipped with high-end technology

Plant propagation is performed on farms by highly skilled and specialized farmers. This work is carried out by 105 farmers and cultivated acreage is approx. 499 ha. This task requires highly skilled workers and appropriate equipment for production and conservation.

Satisfied customers

Readily identified by a blue label (certificate or label delivered by the SOC), farmers and amateur gardeners can purchase garlic plants that meet SOC certification standards.




^ Top

Home Home

La filière française

La France, pays de la qualité du plant d'ail

Toutes les conditions de la qualité sont réunies

La France est un terroir reconnu pour la production de plants de qualité. Elle bénéficie en effet de sols, de climats favorables et diversifiés ainsi que d’un réseau de compétences à tous les niveaux de la filière, de la création variétale jusqu’à la commercialisation des plants. Par ailleurs, l’ensemble des acteurs de la filière ont défini et partagent des règles de production très rigoureuses pour obtenir un haut niveau de qualité des plants, en particulier sanitaire.

Des terroirs et des climats favorables

La France a une situation pédoclimatique privilégiée pour produire des plants de qualité concernant une large gamme de variété. Plus de 25 variétés y sont multipliées sur moins de 500 ha répartis dans 4 régions : Sud Est, Sud Ouest, Auvergne et Nord. Ces régions où se cultivent traditionnellement l’ail bénéficie de bonnes conditions climatiques. Des rotations culturales longues, 5 ans et plus, sont favorables à un bon état sanitaire.

Plus de 30 ans de relations étroites entre la recherche publique
et les professionnels

L’INRA (Institut National de la Recherche Agronomique) et les professionnels ont développé depuis 30 ans de relations étroites et permanentes pour couvrir l’ensemble des recherches sur l’ail (culture de méristèmes, recherche sur les maladies : virus, bactéries, champignons…). Ces collaborations permettent à l’ensemble de la filière de se maintenir à la pointe du progrès pour prendre en compte les besoins des agriculteurs ainsi que les exigences de l’évolution du marché.

Une création variétale dynamique sur tous les type d’ail

Elle est réalisée essentiellement par l’INRA et quelques sélectionneurs privés à laquelle collaborent de nombreux partenaires (agriculteurs, coopératives, GIE…). Elle sélectionne les variétés sur la précocité, conservation, forme et couleur du bulbe (tolérance à la bactériose) etc… Elle s’appuie sur un réseau d’essais pour l’évaluation du comportement.

Des méthodes rigoureuses pour la production de plants

Pour obtenir un haut niveau de qualité, les professionnels de la filière ont mis en place un schéma très strict des productions de plants. Les premières générations sont multipliées sous tunnel insect-proof pour éviter toutes contaminations virales et désinfectées par thermothérapie pour éviter les nématodes.



Une production sous contrôles intensifs

Tout au long de la végétation, des techniciens agréés par le SOC (Service Officiel de Contrôle) visitent et notent les cultures. L’absence de nématodes par analyse d’échantillon en laboratoire est vérifiée. Le nombre d’analyses réalisées dans les laboratoires augmente régulièrement, résultat d’une volonté de la filière d’obtenir des plants d’une qualité toujours plus élevée. D’ailleurs la France a des normes de certification plus sévères que les directives européennes.

Des établissements producteurs de haute technicité
et bien équipés

Le travail de multiplication des plants au champ est confié à des agriculteurs particulièrement compétent et très spécialisé. Cette production est réalisée par 104 agriculteurs sur 488 ha environ. Elle nécessite un haut niveau de savoir faire et des équipements appropriés à la fois en production et en conservation.

Des utilisateurs satisfaits de la qualité des plants

Reconnaissable à l’étiquette bleue (certificat ou vignette délivrée par le SOC), les agriculteurs et jardiniers amateurs trouvent à leur disposition des plants qui répondent aux normes de qualité exigées par la certification.




^ Haut de page

Retour à l'accueil Retour à l'accueil